About Us

In 2018, active residents from several neighborhood associations throughout Iowa City’s southeast side united the Pepperwood, Wetherby, Grant Wood, and South Pointe neighborhoods into one unified district: The South District Neighborhood Association.

The South District Neighborhood, one of many Iowa City neighborhood associations, is an all-volunteer, no-dues organization that comprises neighbors, community allies and partners and businesses working together to stay informed and collaborating to encourage positive community engagement.

Sout District map

Meet Us

Due to COVID-19, our Neighborhood Meetings, open to South District residents and members, are being held via Zoom on the fourth Tuesday every other month from 6 to 7:30 p.m. (April 27, June 22, Aug. 24, Oct. 26, and no meeting in December).

These meetings are a space created for and by our neighborhood residents to share information and provide open discussion about resources, opportunities and issues that serve and impact our neighborhood. 

You can read all our past minutes HERE.

Allies, businesses, churches, nonprofits and other partners are encouraged to email the association to find out dates for Open Meetings where they are welcome to attend. 

Please email southdistrictneighborhood@gmail.com to join the email list.  We also have a Facebook page that we update regularly to promote activities, events and news.

Our Focus

Connect residents with each other and to the neighborhood

Share county, city and neighborhood information, services, resources and news

Advocate for residents needs, ideas, concerns and questions

Build and maintain neighborhood identity through traditions and initiatives 

We seek to stay connected to the greater Iowa City area while also serving our fellow South District neighbors–residents, businesses, nonprofits, organizations and churches.

For more information please email southdistrictneighborhood@gmail.com 

We look forward to meeting and collaborating with your South District establishment.

Current Officers

All officers and at-large positions are filled by South District Neighborhood residents.  

  • President: Angie Jordan
  • Vice President: Eric Harris
  • Secretary: Jessica Bovey
  • Treasurer: (vacant; this position gives a brief income and expense report every other month at Neighborhood Meetings).  
  • At-Large: Shaquita Smith, Kelcey Patrick-Feree, Megan Early-Alter, Tatiana Washington, Elinor Levin

©2022 southdistrictneighborhood.org - All rights reserved.

Follow Us

Mailing List

Enter your e-mail address to receive our newsletter
Please enter a valid email address.
Email address already subscribed. Continue if you wish to unsubscribe.

©2022 southdistrictneighborhood.org - All rights reserved.

eCommerce by CubeCart